Twitter

I was introduced to the world of Twitter by my good friend Zack(@zakmo) follow him,he’s a riot! He was,at the time, all about Web 2.0 and what they had to offer. We worked together for,what…3 and half years, at a restaurant that,by the end of each day we would as k ourselves,”Are we STILL working here”? Anyways..he came to me one day and said,”check this site out here’s the link”.

I don’t remember if it was beta or not(I don’t think it was) and I said,”sure,okay”. I went home that night and signed up. At first,it was kind of slow. I didn’t send any tweets and I was following him and he was following me and,that was pretty much it. I laid low from tweeting for awhile and suddenly picked it up again. We tried to get a few people at work to sign up and try it but it never really caught on with them as it did us.

I remember telling my roommate at the time about it and her response was,”Why would I want everyone to see my text messages”. The only answer I had for her at the time was,”psshhh,everyone won’t see your text messages. It’s only those who you follow and those that follow you will see it. If you text private stuff then,they will see it”.

That’s how I explained it at the time because that was my only explain. It wasn’t as big as it is now and she thinks it’s stupid. I find myself tweeting ALL the time now. Once you get started,it’s almost hard to stop. You find yourself tweeting anywhere and about everything! I tweet while I do rounds. At the movies,in line somewhere,airports,airplanes(if you’re on JetBlue or Southwest where the internet is free),surgeons tweeting surgeries LIVE! It’s all pretty exciting.

There are apps,tools,widgets,tweetups,twitter lingo,twitter etiquette and now a “twitter” search. Celebrities,politicians,tv networks,athletes and major companies have ALL jumped on this bandwagon. People network for jobs and some have made really good friends from this new craze. How long will this last? Who knows? For now,twittering what you are doing in 140 characters or less,is what its all about.

1 comment so far

  1. Zack Moore on

    yeah. i remember when we first joined Twitter. first it was just us. then something happened and i started getting followers. i was following you, CNN, Bham News and a couple others. Now I’m following like 500+ people.

    I’m surprised at the friends I’ve made.

    ZM


Leave a Reply

